top of page

[Cover Magazine] Harper's Bazaar - SEPTEMBER 2018

Harper's Bazaar September 2018 edition in 3 different countries: Malaysia, Singapore and Spain.


For this cover, Kenneth Goh, the Editor-in-Chief decided that one was not enough; he wanted three. Depending on which cover you got, there’s Christina Aguilera, Paris Jackson and the Richards sisters.


Global Fashion Director Carine Roitfeld captured the greats of rock, pop, and rap with their children. “I am especially excited about this year’s theme for ICONS because it involves family. I’m a very family-oriented person so I wanted to meet the families of some of my biggest music idols,” said Roitfeld. "It was amazing to see that some of the industry’s most ground breaking rockstars have a sense of tenderness with their loved ones, even if they are adults!”


The feature, photographed by Mario Sorrenti with creative direction from Dennis Freedman, features Bruce Springsteen and his daughter Jessica, Kanye West holding North and Saint, Christina Aguilera with her two children, Lionel and Nicole Richie, Mariah Carey with her twins, Billie Idol and Bonnie Blue Broad, Michael Jackson’s daughter Paris Jackson, Steven & Liv Tyler, Erykah Badu, and Theodora and Alexandra Richards.


As part of the shoot Paris did not give a full interview, but instead gave the magazine a quote about what family meant to her.


"I have a family that I'm related to by blood and family that I'm not. Family to me is a feeling of tribe - people in your life who you are connected to on the deepest of levels, who make you feel safe and at home, no matter where you are in the world. They tell you 'no' when you need to hear it, and they love you unconditionally for your soul, nothing less than that. Family is a feeling." - Paris Jackson

However this cover was very controversial, when Paris posted an image of her new Harper’s Bazaar Singapore cover on social media alongside the caption: ‘honoured and grateful.’, her activism on behalf of the LGBTQ community was critized and questionned. On Friday, August 17, 2018 Gay Star News published an article Paris Jackson’s Harper’s Bazaar Singapore cover is hypocritical, considering homosexuality is illegal in Singapore.

Paris has since deleted the Instagram post in question and answered in a series of tweets:


"i didn’t know, i am sorry. i was grateful for the opportunity, but i’ll delete the post now. i don’t want to be hypocritical or hurt anyone, and my support for my fellow LGBTQ+ community comes first before my love for fashion and gratitude for this opportunity. again, i’m sorry."


"i would like to add though that someone that is openly apart of the community being on the cover in a country against the community, should be celebrated. isn’t that a step forward? again, i am deeply sorry. i didn’t mean to be hypocritical or hurt anyone."


"also that article is ridiculously mean."


She also answered the tweets of a few fans:


"calling me a hypocrite for being apart of the community and being on the cover of a fashion magazine in a country where same sex marriage is illegal. (the magazine is not just in singapore, it was supposed to go to several several dif countries) i apologized to those i offended."


"i stay at home for a week recovering, recalibrating, in my pajamas watchin cartoons n cuddling my dog, not doing anything wrong… nd people still find ways to write horribly rude mean and hurtful things about me. STILL try to find anything to get mad at me for. #tallpoppysyndrome."


“they will find anything to try to attack my integrity and character. whenever i do something positive they always twist it. the tabloids and media have been like this for decades and decades, it’s very sad.”


"I’ve fought for same sex marriage since the day I learned about it."


"Everyone has known for years I came out when I was 14, WTF."






Have a look at the video the magazine made, we can see Paris.


23 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page